mvp players

The NFL MVP award is the most prestigious award for a player to receive. There are plenty of players who have managed to win this award mostly through hard work and dedication, some even winning several times. Among these players are a few of the talented young NFL players who carried out outstanding performances and managed to stun the world. Here are the top six youngest MVP winners in NFL history.

1. Lamar Jackson 

Born: January 7, 1997 (25 years)

Height: 6 ft 2 in (1.88 m)

Team: Baltimore Ravens 

Position: Quarterback 

Won MVP at: 22 years 

Lamar Jackson received his first MVP with the Ravens and was the youngest NFL player to win the award in 2019 when he was only 22 years old. The youngest player tag was previously held by Patrick Mahomes when he received the MVP award in 2018. Jackson wreak havoc during that season and led the 


Lamar Jackson won his MVP award in 2019 with the Baltimore Ravens. Jackson was simply unstoppable during that season and led the toiling Ravens to numerous wins with his remarkable solo executions. 

Critics think that the 6 ft 2 young quarterback is following the right path to becoming one of the greatest players in NFL history. 

2. Patrick Mahomes

Born: September 17, 1995 (27 years)

Height: 6 ft 2 in (1.88 m)

Team: Kansas City Chiefs 

Position: Quarterback

Won MVP at: 23 years 

Patrick Mahomes was eventually the youngest player to receive the MVP award in 2018 at age 23 until he was dethroned by Lamar Jackson who won the MVP the following year at age 22 and put him in the second spot. Mahomes led the Chiefs to three Super Bowl wins.

He is undeniably one of the finest young players of the modern period. Due to his extraordinary playing style and bold motions on the field, he is already compared to some of the elite players like Tom Brady and Peyton Manning.

3. Emmitt Smith

Born: May 15, 1969 (53 years)

Height: 5 ft 9 in (1.75 m)

Years Active: 1990-2004 (15 seasons)

Squad(s): Dallas Cowboys (1990–2002); and Arizona Cardinals (2003–2004)

Position: Running back

Won MVT at: 24 years

Emmitt Smith is a legendary running back in the NFL who is placed third among the youngest NFL players to have received an MVP award. Smith is regarded as the greatest of all time due to his outstanding records. In the same year at age 25, he won the MVP award for both the regular season and the Super Bowl.


Not only is Smith extremely talented but he is also the only RB in the Cowboys’ history to receive the MVP award.

4. Thurman Thomas

Born: May 16, 1966 (56 years)

Height: 5 ft 10 in (1.78 m)

Years Active: 1988-2000 (13 seasons)

Squad(s): Buffalo Bills (1988–1999); and

Miami Dolphins (2000)

Position: Running back 

Won MVP at: 25 years 

Thurman Thomas is among the few RBs to have ever received this award. He is currently in the fourth spot on the list of youngest NFL MVP awards receivers. He received his first MVP when he was only 25 years old. Thomas is among the greatest players of all time who conquered the league during the 90s. 


His best performance was probably the 1991 NFL season when he was totally at the top of his game. Many critics believe that his play style was the best shown by any RB in the game.

5. Cam Newton

Born: May 11, 1989 (33 years)

Height: 6 ft 5 in (1.96 m)

Years Active: 2011-2021 (11 seasons)

Squad(s): Carolina Panthers (2011–2019); New England Patriots (2020); and Carolina Panthers (2021)

Position: Quarterback

Won MVP at: 26 years 

Cam Newton is considered one of the best Carolina Panthers QB and is the fifth youngest player in the NFL to have won the MVP award.


Despite being one of the greatest QBs his career was short-lived as he decided to retire after playing only for 11 seasons. 

6. Peyton Manning

Born: March 24, 1976 (46 years)

Height: 6 ft 5 in (1.96 m)

Years Active: 1998-2015 (18 seasons)

Squad(s): Indianapolis Colts (1998–2011); and Denver Broncos (2012–2015)

Position: Quarterback 

Won MVP at: 27 years

Peyton Manning is the sixth youngest player to have won an MVP award. But if you know Manning, he is not only famous for being an MVP winner at the age of 27 but he is a five-time NFL MVP winner! 


He is considered a legendary QB and one of the greatest to have played in the NFL.

What's your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in:Football